Community Outreach

Annual Bursary

Lady Cove Women’s Choir Bursary

We are pleased to offer the Lady Cove Women’s Choir Bursary, given annually in the amount of $1,000 to a developing musician whose primary residence is Newfoundland and Labrador or who graduated from a Newfoundland and Labrador high school, in support of a music education experience. The bursary may be used for travel to a music program, participation in music festivals, lessons, private instruction, tuition or any other music education activity. It is open to musicians between the ages of 15 and 20.

The Garfield Warren and Doctor Peggy Allan Armstrong Bursaries

Valued at $500 and $200 respectively, the Garfield Warren and Doctor Peggy Allan Armstrong Bursaries are meant to encourage the next generation of young musicians who are building their experience and honing their craft. These two bursaries are open to musicians between the ages of 15 and 20.

Deadline to apply is March 1, 2024.
See below for more details.

Congratulations to our 2023 Bursary recipients:

Lady Cove Women’s Choir Bursary: Maksym Mekhanik

Garfield Warren Bursary: Colin Spencer

Doctor Peggy Allan Armstrong Bursary: Olivia Avery, Emmajane Donnan, Benjamin Eddy, and Rachel Hammond

How To Apply

Interested musicians between the ages of 15 and 20 by December 31, 2023 should apply by completing and submitting an application form no later than March 1, 2024.

The activities for which the Bursary is being sought must occur within sixteen months of the announcement of the Bursary recipient. The application must be supported by one written recommendation from the applicant’s music teacher/conductor.

Applications will be reviewed by the Bursary Committee of the Lady Cove Women’s Choir, which is comprised of choir members, Board members, and community representatives. The winner will be notified before April 30, 2024.

Recipients are required to demonstrate that the funds were used for the proposed activity. In the event the bursary cannot be used by the recipient, it should be returned to Lady Cove. For this reason, applicants should attempt to list more than one proposed activity on the bursary application.

The recipient of the bursary will receive a Form T4A slip reporting the amount paid.

To apply, please complete the online application (click button below):

Begin the Lady Cove Bursary application

Recipients: Lady Cove Women’s Choir Bursary
  • 2023: Maksym Mekhanik
  • 2022: Grace Nolan
  • 2021: Erin Lee
  • 2020: Elizaveta Konstantinova
  • 2019: Erin Sullivan
  • 2018: Colin Mackey
  • 2017: Matthew Hardy
  • 2016: Gavin Fraser
  • 2015: Ryan McDonald
  • 2014: Not Awarded
  • 2013: Aidan Saccary
  • 2012: Samantha Etchegary
  • 2011: Julia Bowdring
  • 2010: Timothy Brennan
  • 2009: Philip Holloway
  • 2008: Danny Mills
Recipients: Garfield Warren Bursary

2023: Colin Spencer

Recipients: Doctor Peggy Allan Armstrong Bursary

2023: Olivia Avery, Emmajane Donnan, Benjamin Eddy, and Rachel Hammond

2022: Alexander Bessant, Addison Brooklyn Whalen,
Hannah Dalton, and Megan Chippett

2021: Chloe Clarke, Casey Pearce, Nadyezhda Squires, and Jessica Willcott

2020: Claire Bates, Benjamin Diamond, Alishia Mahaney, and Anna Mercer

2019: Anna Mercer, Rachel Bradbury, Alexis Young

2018: Taylor Keefe, Anna Mercer, and Ashleen Molloy

2017: Rachel Cousins, Hunter Madden, and Anna Rumbolt

2016: Joseph Coffin, Amy Hickey, and Colin Mackey